It is recommended to suspend users when you no longer want them to have access to your learning environment rather than deleting them. That's because deleting a user is permanent: it deletes some of the user's history, such as their quiz and SCORM attempts, answers to feedback surveys, etc.. Their learning records are preserved, but this may still be against your organization's retention policy. A suspended user keeps everything and can be re-activated at any time.
Automatic suspension: If your learning environment is integrated with your organization's SSO or HRIS, certain integrations can automatically suspend users when your organization offboards them. Which integrations support this depends on how your learning environment is set up.
Step-by-step Guide
To suspend a user:
-
Go to Site Administration > Users > Accounts > Browse list of users
-
Find the user in question
-
Underneath the 3 vertical dots on the right side of the screen next to the user in question, click on “Suspend user account”
You can re-activate the user by simply repeating the same procedure and selecting “Activate user account”.